How to get Riot Points in League of Legends

Published on August 9 2017

Hello guys, welcome to my next tutorial, I gave an indepth explination as to what League of Legends is - so by now I'm assuming you have had a lot of game time in. One question new players have, is what are Riot Points, and what can I buy with Riot Points. I'll explain what they do, and what you can buy ingame. As you may have noticed, League of Legends is free to play. The game is very well made, and has a large community of players (Over 100 Million monthly users!). This all comes at a cost, especially when you consider the staff needed to keep the updates rolling out, moderator staff, graphics designers...etc. Users buying Riot Points is one of the ways Riot can make money, and keep the game running smoothly.

When using the points in game, you can buy cosmetic skins for champions and wards, as well as cool player icons. There aren't any items in League that will give you an in game advantage which is great in my opinion. Sure you can play the game for free, but I find there is only so much repetition that I can put up with before I want a bit of change. Especially when I play with a few select champions that I have mastered, I want some more emotes or different animations. This is where buying skins can be cool, as you are able to enjoy your favourite champions with multiple appearances!

Generally people buy these points in a shop or online, depending on your local currency they can start to get expensive when you consider some skins can cost over 3k Riot Points. I understand the game is free, but that is a lot of money just for one skin. Now most people will say the game is free so you should support it - and I agree, however sometimes money is hard to come by, and why not enjoy some in game addons? This is where Free Riot Points is a great alternative. You can buy the items you want, without having to pay huge amounts of money for premium currencies. I should say, that I support Riot myself. The game is very well made and they are innovative when adding new champions/maps/game modes to League. It's my favourite game, and one of the reasons why I started this blog. I've been a long time player, so I understand they need to make money as they're a business, but also people can feel left out when they cant buy the upgrades that they like.

I would recommend only using this for expensive skins, or a once in a while treat. As I said, I support Riot and think it's a great game. You can find the site here, there are clear instructions to get you started and on your way to those legendary skins! In my experience, it takes me around 1-2 minutes from start to finish - in my opinions this isn't too long considering what you get. It might depend on how many people use the site, I imagine if you're in the US there would be a lot of people using the site at the same time, so maybe use it later in the evening or early morning. I've never had this problem myself, but you'll have to test it out and see.

I've used this many times, so let me know if you have any problems. I have had to reload League a few times for my Riot Points to be applied to my account, so if it doesn't happen straight away sit tight and wait for 10 or so minutes. I'm not quite sure what the delays are, but my account is in good shape and I've been able to get my hands on a few good skins - so all is well! I'll see you guys on my next post, cya!

Published on #league of legends, #skins

Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post